METER announces 2021 Grant Harris fellows
6 May 2021

METER announces 2021 Grant Harris fellows

PULLMAN, Wash.—METER Group, Inc. USA (METER) today announced its 2021 Grant A. Harris Fellows. Grant Harris fellows are selected each year by committee, in honor of the late Grant A. Harris. The award recognizes novel research ideas focused on growing people’s understanding of physical, chemical and biological processes in the environment.

Included in this year’s fellows are Aashish Khandelwal & Justin Nichols (joint submission), Alexander Fox, Kai Lepley, Adam Sibley, Jennifer Alvarez, and Neill Prohaska. Honorable mentions include Sumanta Chatterjee and Anish Sapkota.

2021 Fellows

Aashish Khandelwal & Justin Nichols, University of New Mexico (Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering), Understanding Solute Transport through Eulerian and Lagrangian Monitoring. Awarded PAR (photosynthetically active radiation) sensors, HYDROS 21 water-level monitoring sensors, ZL6 data loggers and subscriptions to ZENTRA Cloud. Khandelwal and Nichols will be integrating the HYDROS 21 sensor with the Navigator, a floating multiparameter sonde, to be able to utilize Lagrangian approaches to track solutes, quantity diffuse and point sources, and identify areas of accelerated processing within fluvial systems.

Alexander Fox, University of Wyoming (Botany Department), Kernza® in Wyoming: Modeling Water/Nutrient Cycling and Yield for a Perennial Grain. Awarded ATMOS 22 ultrasonic anemometers, TEROS 11 soil moisture and temperature sensors, and ATMOS 14 four-in-one temperature/RH/barometric pressure/vapor pressure stations. Fox is measuring the soil conditions and microclimate in Kernza, annual wheat, and restored prairie fields. Using microclimate data as a driver and soil moisture data to test model predictions, Fox intends to adapt the TREES model to predict water and nutrient cycling—and inform agricultural management decisions.

Kai Lepley, University of Arizona (School of Geography, Development and Environment), Using Agrivoltaics to Create Food, Energy and Water Sustainability in a Changing World. Awarded TEROS 12 soil moisture, temperature and electrical conductivity sensors and ZL6 data loggers. Lepley is studying the optimization of crop growth and irrigation use through precision monitoring of soil moisture and electrical conductivity along with plant photosynthesis, biomass and yield.

Adam Sibley, Oregon State University (Forest Ecosystems and Society), Predicting Drought Vulnerability Across a Mountain Landscape: Connecting Dewfall, Leaf Water Uptake and Soil Water to Drought Stress in Old Growth Forests. Awarded PHYTOS 31 leaf wetness sensors, IRT infrared thermometers, ATMOS 41 weather stations, TEROS 21 matric potential sensors and ZL6 data loggers. Sibley will be using data from networked sensors and field sampling to understand current patterns of drought stress and explore how future warming may alter spatial and temporal patterns of drought stress vulnerability.

Jennifer Alvarez, University of California, Merced (School of Engineering), Soil Water Retention Curve Holds the Key for Understanding Soil C Dynamics under Variable Moisture and Temperature Conditions. Awarded HYPROP 2 soil moisture release curve instrumentation. Alvarez will be fashioning two HYPROP 2s to function as specialized hydro-biogeochemical analyzers to answer questions of soil structure and texture’s influence on the C mineralization sensitivity to moisture and temperature and how spatial (vertical) variability of C mineralization potential is governed by drying rate and C distribution within a column.

Neill Prohaska, The University of Arizona (Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology), Understanding how climate change can impact the Amazon forest water cycle by using METER sensors to reveal drivers of branch-level water fluxes. Awarded PHYTOS 31 (5) leaf wetness sensors and ATMOS 41 all-in-one weather stations. Prohaska will explore how microclimate and biology interact to determine the energy partitioning between latent heat flux (LHF, i.e. evapotranspiration) and sensible heat flux (SHF, i.e. convective heat) within forest canopies.

Honorable Mentions

Sumanta Chatterjee, University of Wisconsin-Madison (Soil Science), Prototype a statewide soil moisture and temperature monitoring network for the Wisconsin cranberry industry.

Anish Sapkota, University of California-Riverside (Environmental Sciences), Understanding field heterogeneity in California’s desert agriculture to delineate irrigation management zones using remote sensing and soil textural data.

The company launched the Grant A. Harris Fellows program in 2009. Since its establishment, the Grant Harris fellowship has granted more than $500,000 in instrumentation to nearly 100 recipients. To learn more about the Grant A. Harris fellowship, go to: metergroup.com/p54591.

About METER Group

METER Group, a Decagon and UMS combined company, delivers real-time, high-resolution data that fuels production and processes for the food quality, environmental research, urban and agriculture sectors. Through the power of its employees, METER combines science, engineering and design expertise to turn physical measurements into useful information. Learn more at www.metergroup.com.



Press Contact

Krista McKibbin